West Bengal began 2021 assembly elections:

Sponsored Links
  • West Bengal has already begun its assembly elections for 2021, already completing the phase-1, and starting with Phase-2 voting process/ polling on April 1, 2021, Thursday in 30 assembly seats.
  • The counting of votes will take place on May 2.
  • The most high-profile constituency of West Bengal is Nandigram where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is contesting form against her former aid Suvendu Adhikari.
  • Trinamool and BJP are contesting in all the 30 seats, while CPI(M) is contesting in 15 and its alliance partners of Sanjukta Morcha the Congress and ISF are competing in 13 and two seats respectively.
  • There will be around 10,620 polling booths for the second phase sensitive with tight securities from 651 companies. Besides, the state police will also be deployed at strategic locations during the polling which will begin at 7 am. A total of 199 companies of Central Armed Police Force will be deployed in Purba Medinipur, 210 companies in Paschim Medinipur, 170 in South 24 Parganas and 72 in Bankura.
  • A total of 294 assembly seats will be going to polls which already began on March 27 and ending by April 29, of which 68 are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs) and 16 for the Scheduled Tribes (STs).
  • The Speaker of the Assembly is Biman Banerjee since the year 2011.
  • Polling will take place amid strict Covid-19 guidelines in nine seats of Paschim Medinipur, eight in Bankura, four seats in South 24 Parganas and nine in Purba Medinipur – the home ground of TMC turncoat and BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari. Nandigram falls in Purba Medinipur district.
  • Discussing about the previous West Bengal Assembly Elections, the election was conducted in six phases comparatively less to the eight phases of 2021.
  • In 2016, TMC had won the election with 211 seats and also became the first ruling party to win without an ally since 1962 in West Bengal. It is however quiet competitive this year as TMC stands against BJP, that is already ruling the center under the government of Narendra Modi. Let’s see who wins this time, whether center has enough power in terms of Suvendu Adhikari to defeat the old-long-run candidate Mamata Banerjee.
  • Over 82 per cent voter turnout was registered in Bengal in the second phase of the Assembly election today – 4.3 per cent less than in 2016. Whereas, Assam also polling on the same day has registered a voter turnout of 77.2 per cent in the second phase today as opposed to 82.7 per cent in 2016.

Phase 2 Voting (Important Dates)

Date of PollingApril 1, 2021
Date of CountingMay 2, 2021
Total number of seats30
Sponsored Links

List of Constituencies/ assembly seats:

    Sl. noConstituency numberName of the constituency
 204Panskura Purba
 205Panskura Paschim
 209Haldia (SC)
 224Kharagpur Sadar
 231Ghatal (SC)
 232Chandrakona (SC)
 235Keshpur (SC)
 256Katulpur (SC)
 257Indus (SC)
 258Sonamukhi (SC)

Date and Schedule:

Phase-1March 27
Phase-2April 1
Phase-3April 6
Phase-4April 10
Phase-5April 17
Phase-6April 22
Phase-7April 26
Phase-8April 29
Counting of VotesMay 2

Important Documents required during voting:

  1. Voter ID card
  2. PAN Card
  3. Driving License
  4. Indian Passport
  5. MNREGA Job Card
  6. Bank/Post Office Passbooks with photograph
  7. Pension document with photograph
  8. Service Identity Cards with photograph issued by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies.
Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *