Tirupati Lok Sabha Elections 2020

tirupati lok sabha elections
Sponsored Links

Lok Sabha is popularly defined as one of India’s parliament constituting 530 members representing people of the states of India and 20 members representing the Union Territories. Similarly, every state has its individual parliament that gradually comprises of its members from various districts of those states.

Tirupati Lok Sabha is the constituency of Andhra Pradesh particular to 25 other Lok Sabha constituencies, located in Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore and Chittoor districts of Andhra Pradesh. This specific precinct encompasses a segment of seven assemblies while belonging to the Chittoor district. Seven assemblies of Tirupati Lok Sabha are Sarvepalli, Gudur, Sullurpeta, Venkatagiri, Tirupati, Srikalahasti, Satyavedu. The seats for Gudur, Sullurpeta as well as Satyavedu seats are reserved for scheduled category candidates.

Sponsored Links


  • Being the constituency with 25 seats, Tirupati saw 79.03% of its elections transforming off votes during the first phase 2019 Lok Sabha Elections held on 11th of April. The transformation was against 77.04% in the previous national elections conducted in 2014. The margin between Balli Durga Prasad Rao and Panabaka Lakshmi was around 228376 votes.
  • Sources report that Hon’ble Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy will be deciding the YSRC candidate for the Tirupati Lok Sabha Election. The MLAs and MPs of Tirupati region shall abide the election and strive the victory of the party candidate.
  • Recently, after the election meeting of the party leaders from the constituency, Chief Minister sought the opinion of all the leaders from the assembly segments. None of the candidate was heard to propose rather to prevail any situation in the respective segments, needs of the locals, and their aspirations.
  • The Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST) ratio is 25.15 and 9.56, respectively out of total population.
  • The four segments under Nellore district chances to select a strong candidate this year by a high command from the party.
  • Earlier representation of BJP while in Tirupati assembly had an alliance with TD in the year 1999. The same party has taken a step towards asking Jana Sena to vacate the seat and rather place their chief member Pawan Kalyan to help them in the extensions of the supports and extensive campaigning.
  • Actions of BJP aim towards converting Balija community that is believed to be under the strong influence of Chiranjeevi becoming an MLA in the previous year, 2019.
  • Tirupati finalizes to select its ever first mayor eventually after 13 years of transformation from becoming a municipality to a corporation. Tirupati was a municipality in the year, 1886. After the upgradation in 2007, the holy city of Tirupati became a fully-fledged Municipal Corporation.
  • The mayor position is targeted by the government to be a female seat that of a general category.
  • Parties such as YSRC, TDP, Jana Sena-BJP are seen revolving strategies in order to win maximum number of seats in the civic polls.

Some prominent achievements of Tirupati Lok Sabha:

  • TDP, a mainstay to Congress won Tirupati in 1984; BJP in 1999, while YSR won the seat in the year 2014.
  • Chinta Mohan won the 1984 general election ticket of TDP and moved to the Congress party later on. Currently, he proved himself successful once again to get the seat, even after winning 6 times in a row.
  • Varaprasad Rao Velagapalli, the candidate to YSR Congress defeated Karumanchi Jayaram of BJP by 37000 votes.
  • Dr. DaggumatiSreehari Rao, the candidate to BSP was nominated for the seat of Tirupati.
  • The TDP tickets were given to Panabaka Lakshmi, the former union minister and MP; Bommi Sri Hari Rao, the BJP nominated candidate; and Balli Durga Prasad Rao, a candidate of YSR Congress party.
  • Out of 12 contestants, two were successful for filing their ground level nominations in the role of independent candidates. Rest of the contestants filed for regional parties such as Pyramid Party of India; Janapaalana Party (Democratic); Viduthalai ChiruthaigalKatch; Viswa Jana Party; and Andhra RastraPraja Samithi.
Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *