Tirupati By-Elections – Nomination Filing Notification Out:

Sponsored Links

The Tirupati Parliamentary constituency by-election is scheduled to be held on April 17th 2021. The district collector & returning officer of Nellore announced the opening of filing nominations would commence on 23rd March 2021 and candidates would be allowed to file their nominations for the by-elections till 30th March 2021. The scrutiny process will be performed on the 31st of March 2021.

The by-elections have been due since October of 2020 when the sitting MP from YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) – Balli Durgaprasad Rao passed away. The ruling party YSRCP has already announced physiotherapist Dr. M Guru Murthy as its candidate for the by-elections.YSRCP president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy entrusted 7 of his cabinet ministers & assigned them to bring victory in each of the 7 assembly segments.

 Telugu Desam Party national president N. Chandrababu Naidu was the first to declare the need for by-election in the pilgrimage city of Tirupati. TDP has named ex central minister Panabaka Lakshmi as their candidate for the by-elections. Pananbaka Lakshmi lost the 2019 elections to Balli Durgaprasad Rao by a huge vote margin of nearly 2.4 lakh votes.TDP has divided the constituency into 175 clusters & has tasked each of the clusters to a pair of senior leaders. TDP has formed a committee including party state president K Atchennaidu, former ministers & senior leaders to oversee the electioneering process.

Sponsored Links

BJP professed their intentions to become the ruling party in the state and would begin by winning the Tirupati parliamentary constituency by-elections as their first seat. BJP have tied up with Jana Sena to contest this election, after much deliberation the 2 parties have agreed have a BJP candidate in the mix for the by-elections as initially both parties wanted to field candidates in the elections.The BJP is considering 3 candidates to field for the by-elections but have not announced their decision on who will contest the election from their side yet.Retired Karnataka IAS Officer Rathna Prabha, retired IAS Officer Dasari Sreenivasulu & Ravela Kishore Babu are the 3 leading the race to get the ticket to contest the by-elections for BJP. Adinarayana Reddy is leading BJP’s efforts in electioneering with other senior leaders while also having assigned 20 of their senior leaders including MPs to campaign for the upcoming by-election.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *